Haringey's Liberal Democrats are hoping to inject some new blood into Haringey Borough Council this summer.

The opposition group has selected ten fresh candidates to stand in this year’s local council elections in May.

Sakina Chenot, Dawn Barnes, Asha Kaur, Patrick Harte, Viv Ross, Cara Jenkinson, Sarah Elliott, Gillian Kilby, Liz Morris, and Roberto Robles were picked at a meeting in Hornsey Bowling Club, in Priory Road, on Wednesday evening.

Cllr Richard Wilson, leader of Haringey’s Lib Dems, said: “We have a great team of local candidates for the council elections in May, with hugely diverse skills and backgrounds.

“I look forward to working with them to end over 40 years of Labour mismanagement of the council.

“We must end of the scandal of poor services and high taxes that has made Haringey the fourth most complained about council in London.”

The party also selected its parliamentary candidate for the Tottenham constituency at the meeting.

Turhan Ozen will stand against Labour’s David Lammy, who has been the MP for the area since 2000.

Lynne Featherstone, Lib Dem MP for Hornsey and Wood Green, said: “I am delighted that we have such a fantastic team for the council elections in May.

“It will be a pleasure to work with them all and our new parliamentary candidate for Tottenham Turhan Ozen.”