Mauricio Pochettino began his reign as Spurs as Tottenham began their pre-season schedule with an entertaining 3-3 draw against Seattle Sounders.

Spurs twice came from behind to grab a late draw, with Iago Falque’s 81st minute penalty ensuring Pochettino did not start with a defeat in the USA.

Without a number of players who had featured at the World Cup, the Argentine took the opportunity to properly assess his squad against a Sounders side which included former Lilywhite, Clint Dempsey, and ex-Newcastle and Internazionale forward, Obafemi Martins.

One of those handed a chance to impress the new boss was Lewis Holtby and the German, who spent the second half of last season on loan at Fulham, struck after just ten minutes to open the scoring.

After Harry Kane made progress down the left to cross, it was Holtby who was on hand to head home.

The two sides continued to trade chances before the hosts were awarded a penalty for a Michael Dawson foul at a corner.

From the resulting spot kick, Gonzalo Pineda levelled for the Sounders.

Dempsey and Martins almost combined to score before the break but Danny Rose cleared Martins’ effort off the line.

Osvaldo Alonso put Seattle 2-1 up after the restart, firing past Brad Friedel with aplomb from fully 30 yards.

Spurs had a penalty of their own after eight second-half minutes, Roberto Soldado converting after a clumsy Chad Marshall challenge.

With 12 minutes remaining, the MLS side re-took the lead, Sean Okoli progressing down the left flank and cutting back for Tristan Bowen to turn beyond Friedel.

The lead was short-lived, though, and just three minutes later, a third penalty was awarded after DeAndre Yedlin – who had starred for the USA at the World Cup – was adjudged to have handled.

Up stepped Falque to level for the tourists before Cristian Ceballos came close to a winner; denied by Sounders goalkeeper Stefan Frei.

Spurs first half: Friedel; Naughton, Dawson, Fryers, Rose; Carroll, Holtby, Capoue; Townsend, Kane & Lennon.

Spurs second half: Friedel; Fredericks, Kaboul, Veljkovic, Fryers; Capoue, Carroll, Holtby; Lamela, Soldado & Ceballos.