Eric Dier’s 90th minute winner on his debut saw Tottenham Hotspur beat West Ham United 1-0 in Mauricio Pochettino’s first match as Spurs head coach.

In an eventful game, Hammers midfielder Mark Noble missed a penalty, Kyle Naughton was sent off for Spurs and James Collins for the Hammers.

New Spurs head coach Pochettino handed a debut to Dier, with Erik Lamela and Etienne Capoue both starting after finding themselves frozen out last term.

Hammers boss Sam Allardyce – celebrating his 400th Premier League match as a manager – gave debuts to summer signings Aaron Cresswell and Cheikhou Kouyate.

And it was Kouyate who created the first chance of note, flicking a header narrowly wide from Stewart Downing’s right-wing cross.

Hosts West Ham should have been ahead when they were awarded a penalty for handball by Naughton in the 29th minute.

After blocking Kevin Nolan’s near post shot with his hands, Naughton was dismissed and the Hammers were awarded a penalty.

The usually reliable Noble stepped up to take and planted his spot-kick wide as Hugo Lloris dove in the opposite direction.

West Ham lost their man advantage when centre-back Collins was sent off for his second bookable offence in the 63rd minute, leaving both sides with ten men for the remaining half an hour.

Noble tried his luck again when he burst through before firing straight at Lloris, with Downing also coming close when he found a way through, only to find his route to goal blocked by a covering Spurs defender.

In the 90th minute, Spurs grabbed a winner through an unlikely source, with Dier marking his debut in fine style.

The centre-half, signed from Sporting Lisbon this summer, had been pushed out to right-back following Naughton’s sending-off but was played through by substitute Harry Kane, rounding Adrian before rolling into the empty net.

West Ham United: Adrian; O’Brien (Demel 62), Collins, Reid, Cresswell; Noble, Kouyate, Nolan; Vaz Te (Diame 68), Cole (Valencia 81), Downing.

Subs: Jaaskelainen (GK), Zarate, Poyet, Burke.

Tottenham Hotspur: Lloris, Naughton, Dier, Kaboul, Rose; Capoue, Bentaleb; Lennon (Townsend 61), Eriksen, Lamela (Holtby 61); Adebayor (Kane 83).

Subs: Friedel (GK), Soldado, Dawson, Davies.

Referee: Mr Chris Foy.

Attendance: 34,977.