The sun will barely be rising by the time the third round draw for the Carabao Cup takes place on Thursday - with a 4.25am timeslot allocated by the Football League.

It has been a quiet year so far for the League Cup under its latest guise - aside from Charlton Athletic being given two first-round ties, followed by a bungled draw for this week's second round drawing four games in the wrong location.

Now the Football League have taken matters a step further, with the third round draw to be held in Beijing in the early hours of Thursday morning, albeit even then at 11.25am local time, or 4.25am for those in the UK brave enough to set their alarms.

That draw will include the likes of Manchester United, Chelsea and Tottenham for the first time, with the trio part of seven sides entering at the third-round stage because of their participation in Europe.