Six Labour London Assembly members representing constituencies across the capital have been reselected as candidates for next year’s elections.

London Assembly elections take place at the same time as mayoral elections, on a four year cycle. There are 25 members in total – 14 representing constituencies, and 11 covering the whole of London.

The Assembly approves the Mayor’s budget, scrutinises his work, and provides advice on his policies.

Unmesh Desai, Florence Eshalomi, Onkar Sahota, Len Duvall, Joanne McCartney, and Leonie Cooper will all fight their seats again next year, following their formal reselection.

Unmesh Desai

Tottenham Independent:

Mr Desai has represented City and East since 2016. He was previously a Labour councillor in Newham, and a criminal defence lawyer for a human rights firm. He is currently chair of the Assembly’s police and crime committee

Florence Eshalomi

Tottenham Independent:

Ms Eshalomi has also represented Lambeth and Southwark since 2016. She was a Labour councillor in Lambeth, and previously worked for the Runnymede Trust, a leading race equality think tank. She is currently chair of the transport committee.

Onkar Sahota

Tottenham Independent:

Mr Sahota has represented Ealing and Hillingdon since 2012. He was a full-time GP before being elected, and continues to practice part-time in Hanwell and Southall, serving around 10,000 patients. He is chair of the health committee

Len Duvall

Tottenham Independent:

Mr Duvall has represented Greenwich and Lewisham since 2000, the first time that London Assembly elections took place. He was previously a councillor in Greenwich, including a spell as council leader. In 1998 he was awarded an OBE for his contributions to London local government. 

He is chair of the GLA oversight committee, and leader of the Labour group at City Hall.

Leonie Cooper

Tottenham Independent:

Leonie Cooper has represented Merton and Wandsworth since 2016. She has been a Labour councillor in Wandsworth since 2006, and previously worked in environmental campaigning. She is chair of the economy committee.

Joanne McCartney

Tottenham Independent:

Joanne McCartney has represented Enfield and Haringey since 2004. She was previously a Labour councillor in Enfield, and worked as a barrister, specialising in employment law.

She was appointed deputy mayor, with responsibility for education and childcare in 2016.

Labour’s remaining constituency assembly members – Jenette Arnold, Navin Shah, and Andrew Dismore – are standing down at the next election.

Meanwhile Labour’s London-wide representatives – Tom Copley, Fiona Twycross and Nicky Gavron – will face re-selection through a separate process.

This could see them bumped down the list of London-wide candidates for Labour appearing on ballot papers, making their re-election less likely.

The London Assembly elections will take place on May 7, 2020.