The candidates vying for a seat on Enfield Council in Jubilee ward have been revealed.

A by-election will take place in the ward on Thursday, May 6, following the resignation of Labour’s Bernadette Lappage.

Labour won a large majority in Jubilee at the 2018 local elections, with the top Conservative candidate more than 1,300 votes away from winning a seat.

The candidates in the running this year are:

  • Chinelo Anyanwu – Labour Party
  • Bill Linton – Green Party
  • Clive Morrison – Taking the Initiative Party of Britain
  • Benny Neza – Conservative Party
  • Lewis John Peacock – Trade Union and Socialist Coalition
  • Iman Saadoune – Liberal Democrat

By-elections were postponed following the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic but have been allowed to go ahead from May as lockdown restrictions are lifted.

Elections will also be held in two other Enfield wards on May 6 – Chase and Southbury.

The London mayoral and London Assembly elections will take place on the same day.