The Premier League has announced its 2019/20 season will begin on Saturday, August 10, with the transfer window closing two days earlier.

The transfer deadline on the Thursday will be at 5pm. It will be the second successive year the window will close ahead of the season getting under way.

Premier League clubs in September 2017 agreed to a rule amendment that would see the summer window, in any year, end at 5pm on the Thursday before the campaign starts.

Last year it happened on August 9, with the season then kicking off on Friday 10 with Manchester United's 2-1 win over Leicester City at Old Trafford.